top of page

A beautiful image missed


We were only able to spend a few days in the Sacred valley due to me getting food poisoning. It was bad enough that I spent a day at the hospital getting fluids and meds. Sometimes these things just happen and it cut that portion of our trip short. If I could redo things over I would have spent two weeks there. The photo opportunities were endless with the rugged mountain backdrop, the beauty of the people and the picturesque farmland.

 I could have spend days taking pictures of the grandmothers. They were amazing with their colorful garb and hats. I only had one evening with my camera in town and with all three kids in tow it was not conducive to taking people pictures.  I had one opportunity when I went into a little corner store to get drinks and there I found my dream shot. It was evening and the light coming in was soft and warm. Next to the door was a make shift plank table and two old women sitting at it drinking beer from large glasses. There was dust in the air and the women were sitting back with a smoking pipe and exchanging looks like old friends in deep discussion. Their faces were lined but their eyes were sharp and the hats they each wore were magnificent. I will never forget that moment. It was just such a beautifully raw image.

I pulled out my camera and asked if I could take a picture. The closest women to me pulled off her hat, smoothed her long hair and then proceeded to what I can only guess was cuss me out for a few moments and I had no idea what she said or if it was consent or not. It was a big disappointment for me. I tried to ask again but was met with the same response and concluded that I did not have permission. I paid for my drinks, bid them good evening and left. And such is life. That image will always stick with me though. The only other people shots I was able to get were from a distance while on the move. And I am thankful that I had the opportunity to take them.

bottom of page